What’s In A Name?

After 20 years of working at Sage, the world’s largest provider of business management software and services for small and medium sized businesses, I seem to have become a bit of a ‘sage’ myself, gaining knowledge of Sage products, people and processes, both past and current.  As a result, it’s time for me to share some of that hard-won knowledge with you, our loyal Sage customers, channel partners and other members of the greater Sage ecosystem.  The goal of this blog is to spark ongoing dialog with you about topics that are near and dear to my heart, and give you some insight into what the Sage product management team has in store for the future.

Sage has recently embarked on a transformational journey. As part of that journey, we’re changing the names of some of our established brands to be more reflective of the Sage brand than of the various product names of the past.  For example Sage Peachtree is becoming Sage 50, Sage ERP MAS 90 and 200 is becoming Sage 100 ERP, and Sage ERP Accpac is becoming Sage 300 ERP.  Along with these name changes, other Sage products such as those that provide fixed asset accounting and human resource tracking are also being renamed to emphasize the Sage brand name.  Some question why this is being done, but to me the explanation is simple.  Sage is the world’s largest provider of business management software and services for small and medium sized businesses, yet our company seems to be relatively unknown in North America by anyone other than existing customers.  In order to attract more customers to our brand, prospects need to know who we are. In simplest terms, the Sage strategy is to move from a house of product names cobranded with Sage to a strong branded house, emphasizing Sage.   Click here to see a video on the Sage branding changes.

Those who know me may also know I’ve been the self-proclaimed “Czarina of MAS 90” for quite some time. “Why Czarina?” you may ask.  My reply of course is, “Because Queen is so mundane.”  Over the past few years my role at Sage has changed and is far from mundane. While my roots are with Sage ERP MAS 90 (becoming Sage 100 ERP)  I’ve got much more than that product to talk about these days.  Over the course of time I’ll update you on what I’ve been doing lately, what my colleagues at Sage are up to, and my observations on our industry and the future. 

When trying to come up with a name for this blog, I Googled my first name and discovered that two of the Scandinavian definitions of Erika are “ruler” and “forever”.  So, with my longevity at Sage in mind and tongue planted firmly in cheek, Czarina Erika seems to fit.  The “floating to the top” reference has to do with my long-time love affair with water activities including boating, sailing, sunbathing, relaxing in the hot tub, and yes, even synchronized swimming.  And as a former swim instructor, one of the key instructions I gave to beginning students was, “If you feel like you are sinking, just relax and stop moving for a moment. Once you relax, you will float to the top.”  So hopefully everyone who takes a moment to read this blog will also take the time to relax briefly, and use the information provided here to help them ‘float to the top’ and rise above the challenges of the day. 

On to the adventure,

Czarina Erika

Leave a Reply

